Susan Wiggs
HomeBooksAboutBlogContactPressGoodreadsFacebookFollow susanwiggs on TwitterFollow Me on Pinterest


Susan's Books:

Stand-Alone Novels
Reading Group Guides
Recipes from the Books
Printable Book Lists
New Release Schedule


Click here to sign up for Susan's mailing list

The Calhoun Chronicles

The Charm School The Charm School (Calhoun Chronicles #1) - RWA Favorite Book of the Year
Mira (May 2008)
ISBN-10: 0778325040
ISBN-13: 978-0778325048
Published in 2001 and 1999

An awkward misfit in an accomplished Boston family, Isadora Peabody yearns to escape her social isolation and sneaks aboard the Silver Swan, bound for Rio, leaving it all behind.

Ryan Calhoun, too, had a good family name. But he'd purposely walked away from everything it afforded him. Driven by his quest to right an old wrong, the fiery, temperamental sea captain barely registers the meek young woman who comes aboard his ship.

To the Swan's motley crew, the tides of attraction clearly flow between the two. Teaching her the charms of a lady, they hope to build the confidence she needs to attract not only their lonely captain's attention, but his heart, as well. For everyone knows the greatest charms are not those of the formal lady, but rather the possibilities of a new world built on love.

Read an excerpt


The Horsemaster's Daughter The Horsemaster's Daughter (Calhoun Chronicles #2)
Grand Central Publishing (February 2010)
ISBN-10: 0778329577
ISBN-13: 978-0778329572
Originally published in 1999 and 2008

When a prized stallion arrives from Ireland crazed and unridable, Hunter Calhoun is forced to seek help for the beast. Removed from the world of wealth and social privilege, Eliza Fylte has inherited her father's famed gift for gentling horses. And when Hunter arrives with his wild steed, her healing spirit reaches further yet, drawing her to his shattered family and to the intense, bitter man who needs her, just as she needs him.

Read an excerpt


Halfway to Heaven Halfway to Heaven (Calhoun Chronicles #3) - RITA Finalist
Mira (October 2001)
ISBN-10: 1551668378
ISBN-13: 978-1551668376

Jamie Calhoun's handsome looks and easy charm have made him as popular on the Senate floor as he is with the capital's most attractive women. But secretly he loathes the cynical, manipulative man he's become. Initially, he befriends Abigail as a means to a political end. But somewhere along the way the plan goes awry.

Read an excerpt


Enchanted Afternoon (Calhoun Chronicles #4)
Mira (September 2002)
ISBN-10: 1551669382
ISBN-13: 978-1551669380

Helena can't outrun her past. In desperation, she turns to Michael Rowan, a man she once loved, a man who broke her heart. A brilliant inventor, Michael is still ruggedly handsome, still defiantly unconventional. For Helena, the road to trusting Michael again is long and hard. And danger lies ahead. But Michael has just discovered a shattering truth and a reason to stay and fight for the woman he once lost.

Read an excerpt


A Summer Affair A Summer Affair (Calhoun Chronicles #5)
Mira (February 2010)
ISBN-10: 0778329585
ISBN-13: 978-0778329589
Published in 2003

Isabel Fish-Wooten has spent most of her life on the run, but everything changes when she forces a stranger to save her life. Yet her rescue comes with an unexpected price. As Isabel recovers from her wounds, she finds herself touched by this remarkable man and yearns to reach out to him and his rebellious son.

Read an excerpt


Film and TV rights inquiries
Foreign rights inquiries